Climate-friendly rail transport

Climate-friendly rail transport

Swiss Post uses rail

Swiss Post uses rail transport wherever possible - for example for its own runs between the letter centres. This puts Swiss Post among the leaders internationally. Swiss Post develops attractive, climate-friendly offerings such as "Kombiverkehr" (multi-modal transport).

In reorganizing the parcel and letter centres, Swiss Post opted for combined transport with the focus on rail. At all new-build properties, optimum rail links were the top priority. Rail is used mainly for runs between the centres.

Swiss Post updates its fleet of track vehicles

Swiss Post's own fleet of track vehicles is constantly being updated with a view to making it more energy-efficient. Modern, high-performance vehicles, such as diesel locomotives with particulate filters and environmentally-compatible vehicles that run on both road and rail, achieve a substantial reduction in emissions.

Environmentally-friendly: "Kombiverkehr" cuts CO2 emissions

"Kombiverkehr" is the Swiss Post offering combining road and rail transport. It is ideal for customers who regularly transport containers of merchandise, commodities, bulk materials or hazardous goods.

Here’s how it works: we collect the goods and take them by truck to a transshipment platform, where they are loaded onto the track. The train company transports the goods to the next transshipment platform, where they are loaded onto a vehicle and immediately shipped to their destination. Every day, this saves thousands of kilometres by truck and reduces CO2 emissions.

Klimafreundliche Bahntransporte

Die Post nutzt die Schiene

Die Post nutzt wo immer möglich Bahntransporte – zum Beispiel für die eigenen Transporte zwischen den Briefzentren. Im internationalen Vergleich belegt die Post damit einen Spitzenplatz. Die Post entwickelt attraktive, klimafreundliche Angebote wie den «Kombiverkehr».

Bei der Reorganisation der Paket- und Briefzentren hat die Post auf den kombinierten Verkehr mit Schwergewicht Schiene gesetzt. Die optimale Schienenanbindung hatte bei allen Neubauten oberste Priorität. Die Bahn wird vor allem für Transporte zwischen den Zentren eingesetzt.

Die Post erneuert ihren Schienenfuhrpark

Der posteigene Schienenfuhrpark wird stetig erneuert, um seine Energieeffizienz zu steigern. Moderne und leistungsfähige Fahrzeuge wie Diesellokomotiven mit Partikelfilter oder umweltschonende Zweiwegfahrzeuge, die sowohl auf der Strasse als auch auf der Schiene fahren, bewirken eine deutliche Reduktion der Emissionen.

Umweltfreundlich: Kombiverkehr reduziert CO2-Emissionen

Beim Kombiverkehr kombiniert die Post Strassen- und Bahntransport miteinander. Das Angebot eignet sich für Kunden, die regelmässig Container mit Handelswaren, Rohstoffen, Schüttgut oder Gefahrgut transportieren.

So gehts: Wir holen Waren ab und bringen sie per Lastwagen zu einer Umschlagplattform, wo sie auf die Schiene verladen werden. Die Bahn befördert die Waren zur nächsten Umschlagplattform. Dort werden sie in ein Fahrzeug umgeladen und umgehend an den Zielort transportiert. Täglich werden so Tausende LKW-Kilometer gespart und die CO2-Emissionen reduziert.