Waste disposal gas power plant in Turkey

Gases from the waste disposal power plant generate clean electricity.

Gases are collected at the Mamak waste disposal plant in Ankara province, and organic and syngas are produced. Gas engines use it to produce electricity. For this purpose the disposal site was covered, a gravitational water drainage system was developed, and a sorting and recycling centre set up. The plant supplements conventional power plants in the region and thus reduces greenhouse gas emissions thanks to renewable energies.

 

Ecological benefit

The closed disposal site prevents the release of methane gas, a very harmful greenhouse gas. The gravitational water drainage system prevents contamination of the soil and neighbouring watercourses. The waste heat is used to heat greenhouses in which vegetables are grown. The green area on the covered disposal site with more than 4,000 newly planted trees enhances the landscape.

Thanks to this project, an average of 400,000 tonnes of greenhouse gases are avoided each year (CO2 equivalent). Swiss Post purchases a stake in this total volume with the «pro clima» surcharges.

Economic benefit

Around 200 employees are needed to operate the waste disposal site, and they receive special training for operation and maintenance of the plant.

Social benefit

The covered waste disposal site prevents uncontrolled gas explosions and odour emissions. The plant is a prime example of waste management in Turkey. Together with the local authorities the operators launched a sensitization campaign for the local population on recycling and waste management.

Abfalldeponiegas-Kraftwerk in der Türkei

Gase aus der Abfalldeponie erzeugen sauberen Strom.

In der Mamak-Abfalldeponie in der Provinz Ankara werden Gase gesammelt sowie Bio- und Syngas produziert. Gasmotoren erzeugen daraus Strom. Dazu wurde die Deponie abgedeckt, ein Sickerwasser-Drainage-System entwickelt und ein Sortier- und Recycling-Center geschaffen. Die Anlage ergänzt herkömmliche Kraftwerke in der Region und reduziert dank erneuerbarer Energien die Treibhausgas-Emissionen.

Ökologischer Nutzen

Die geschlossene Deponie verhindert die Freisetzung von Methan-Gas, einem sehr stark schädlichen Treibhausgas. Das Sickerwasser-Drainage-System verhindert die Verschmutzung des Bodens und der benachbarten Gewässer. Mit der Abwärme werden Gewächshäuser beheizt, in denen Gemüse kultiviert werden. Die über der gedeckten Deponie angelegte Grünzone mit mehr als 4000 neu gepflanzten Bäumen verschönert das Landschaftsbild.

Dank diesem Projekt werden jährlich durchschnittlich 400‘000 Tonnen Treibhausgasemissionen (CO2-Äquivalente) vermieden. Mit den «pro clima»-Zuschlägen kauft die Schweizerische Post einen Anteil an dieser Gesamtmenge.

Ökonomischer Nutzen

Für den Betrieb der Abfalldeponie werden rund 200 Mitarbeitende beschäftigt, die für den Betrieb und den Unterhalt der Anlage speziell ausgebildet sind.

Sozialer Nutzen

Die gedeckte Abfalldeponie verhindert unkontrollierte Gasexplosionen und Geruchsimmissionen. Die Anlage ist ein Vorzeigebeispiel für Abfall-Management in der Türkei. Die Betreiber lancierten zusammen mit den lokalen Behörden eine Sensibilisierungskampagne für die lokale Bevölkerung zum Thema Recycling und Abfallmanagement.