Wind farms in New Caledonia, South Pacific

Typhoon-proof wind farms generate clean electricity for New Caledonia.

A Pacific Island state and home to the world's largest lagoon, New Caledonia is known for its high level of biodiversity. However, it is also under threat from the effects of climate change, including rising sea levels, ocean acidification and ever-changing rainfall. A wind energy project on the main island is making a key contribution to New Caledonia’s sustainable development. The construction of six small wind farms, each generating 5 MW, means that coal is no longer required as a source of energy. Specially constructed wind turbines will also withstand tropical storms, which sends out a strong signal for the use of natural resources in the region.

Ecological benefit

The wind farms reduce New Caledonia's emissions of harmful greenhouse gases and improve local air quality as they replace conventional electricity production via coal plants. The wind turbines were built far away from local settlements, nature reserves and migratory routes. Existing mining access roads were used for construction purposes.

Thanks to this project, an average of 32,000 tonnes of greenhouse gases are saved each year (CO2 equivalent). Swiss Post purchases a stake in this total volume with the «pro clima» surcharges.

Economic benefit

The facility supports the development through to more independent production of energy from natural renewable sources. The transfer of technology and training of the workers enables economic development through the project itself. The technology supplier, for example, supports the entire Pacific region from New Caledonia. The New Caledonians' dependency on the import of fossil fuels is reduced, which impacts positively on the balance of payments.

Social benefit

The project creates around 50 construction and maintenance jobs among the local population, reducing the pressure to migrate. The operator organizes tours for local schools and the general public to highlight the topic of wind power.

Windstrom in Neukaledonien

Taifunsichere Windturbinen liefern sauberen Strom für Neukaledonien.

Als pazifischer Inselstaat mit der weltgrössten Lagune ist Neukaledonien bekannt für seine grosse Biodiversität, aber auch besonders gefährdet durch die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels wie steigender Meeresspiegel, Versauerung des Ozeans und ändernde Niederschlagsmengen. Ein Windenergie-Projekt auf der Hauptinsel leistet einen zentralen Beitrag zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung Neukaledoniens. Mit sechs kleinen Windfarmen von jeweils etwa 5 MW Leistung wird Kohle als Energielieferant abgelöst. Speziell konstruierte Windturbinen überstehen auch tropische Wirbelstürme, was ein starkes Signal für die Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen in der Region darstellt.

Ökologischer Nutzen

Die Windfarmen verringern Neukaledoniens Emissionen an klimaschädlichen Gasen und verbessern die lokale Luftqualität, weil sie die herkömmliche Stromproduktion mit Kohlekraftwerken ersetzen. Die Positionierung der Windturbinen erfolgte weit abseits lokaler Siedlungen, Naturschutzgebieten und Zugvogelrouten. Für den Bau wurden bestehende Zufahrtsstrassen des Bergbaus genutzt.

Dank diesem Projekt werden jährlich durchschnittlich 32‘000 Tonnen Treibhausgasemissionen (CO2-Äquivalente) vermieden. Mit den «pro clima»-Zuschlägen kauft die Schweizerische Post einen Anteil an dieser Gesamtmenge.

Ökonomischer Nutzen

Die Anlage unterstützt die Entwicklung hin zu einer selbstständigeren Energiegewinnung aus natürlichen erneuerbaren Ressourcen. Der Technologietransfer und die Ausbildung der Arbeiter ermöglicht eine wirtschaftliche Entwicklung über das eigentliche Projekt hinaus. Der Technologie-Lieferant betreut beispielsweise inzwischen von Neukaledonien aus den gesamten Pazifikraum. Die Abhängigkeit Neukaledoniens vom Import fossiler Brennstoffe wird gemindert, was sich positiv auf die Zahlungsbilanz auswirkt.

Sozialer Nutzen

Das Projekt hat in Bau und Unterhalt rund fünfzig Arbeitsplätze unter der indigenen Bevölkerung geschaffen, was den Druck auszuwandern verringert. Die Betreiberfirma organisiert Führungen für die lokalen Schulen und Bevölkerung, um das Thema Windenergie breit zu verankern.