Market position strengthened in USA

Press release dated 14.01.2003

Swiss Post International (SPI) - the international business unit of Swiss Post - has acquired "Priority Post". Based in the Baltimore/Washington D.C. area, the company is one of the largest non-postal providers of international mailings and specialized in the pre-sorting and processing of bulk mailings. SPI has had branches in New York and Los Angeles since 1998. By taking over "Priority Post", Swiss Post International can expand its position in the USA.

Swiss Post International - the international business unit of Swiss Post - has acquired the US-based "Priority Post". The company, which was founded in 1985, specializes in the sorting and processing of large international mailings (bulk mailings) for business customers. The company has its registered office in the Baltimore/Washington D.C. area and a branch in California. By acquiring "Priority Post", SPI can strengthen its position in the USA and expand its sales network. SPI has been represented in the USA since 1998 with branches in New York and Los Angeles. The purchase price for "Priority Post" is a low single-digit figure.

"Priority Post" is a partner of the US Postal Service (USPS). Thanks to this partnership - which will continue in future - SPI's business customers will profit from faster delivery times, a flexible product range and improved service in international mailing from the USA to the rest of the world. "Priority Post" also has high-tech software for dispatch processing as well as considerable technological know-how. In the long term, SPI hopes that the "Priority Post" purchase will result in better import conditions and thus enhanced quality for items being mailed to the USA.

SPI: Key international companies

Today, more than 500 employees work for SPI, the international arm of Swiss Post, which was founded in 1996. SPI has its own subsidiaries in Germany, Austria, France, Italy, the UK, the Netherlands and the USA. The core business of these subsidiaries is the dispatch of international mailings for business customers.

Stärkung der Marktposition in den USA

Mitteilung vom 14.01.2003

Swiss Post International (SPI) - der internationale Bereich der Schweizerischen Post - kauft das in den USA im Raum Baltimore/Washington D.C. ansässige Unternehmen "Priority Post". Das Unternehmen ist einer der grössten postunabhängigen Anbieter für internationale Mailings und spezialisiert auf die Vorsortierung und Verarbeitung solcher Massensendungen. SPI besitzt seit 1998 Niederlassungen in New York und Los Angeles. Mit der Übernahme von "Priority Post" kann Swiss Post International die Position in den USA ausbauen.

Swiss Post International - der internationale Bereich der Schweizerischen Post - übernimmt die amerikanische "Priority Post". Das 1985 gegründete Unternehmen ist auf die Sortierung und Aufbereitung von grossen internationalen Mailings (Massensendungen) für Geschäftskunden spezialisiert. Der Unternehmenssitz liegt im Raum Baltimore/ Washington D.C., eine Filiale besteht in Kalifornien. Durch den Kauf von "Priority Post" kann SPI seine Stellung in den USA verstärken und das Verkaufsnetz ausbauen. SPI ist in den USA seit 1998 mit Niederlassungen in New York und Los Angeles vertreten. Der Kaufpreis von "Priority Post" bewegt sich in einer tiefen einstelligen Millionenhöhe.

"Priority Post" ist Partner der amerikanischen Post (USPS). Dank dieser Partnerschaft -die auch in Zukunft bestehen bleibt- sollen die Geschäftskunden von SPI von rascheren Beförderungszeiten, einem flexibleren Angebot und verbessertem Service im internationalen Mailingversand von den USA in die Welt hinaus profitieren können. "Priority Post" besitzt zudem technisch hochentwickelte Software für die Versandvorbereitung und ein grosses technologisches Know-how. Langfristig erhofft sich SPI mit dem Kauf von "Priority Post" auch bessere Importbedingungen und damit eine verbesserte Qualität für Sendungen nach den USA.

SPI: Wichtige Auslandsgesellschaften

Für den 1996 gegründeten internationalen Bereich der Schweizerischen Post (SPI) sind heute mehr als 500 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter tätig. Vertreten ist SPI mit eigenen Konzerngesellschaften in Deutschland, Österreich, Frankreich, Italien, Grossbritannien, den Niederlanden und den USA. Kerngeschäft dieser Konzerngesellschaften ist der Versand internationaler Mailings für Geschäftskunden.