First 300 WiFi-equipped Postbuses take to the road in April

Press release dated 19.03.2012

Many Postbuses will soon have free internet access. As announced in November 2011, PostBus Switzerland Ltd. will begin rolling out its free WiFi fleet on 10 April 2012. Initially, 300 Postbuses in eastern Switzerland, Valais and Aargau will be converted. Thereafter, within one year, up to 100 vehicles will be added each month throughout Switzerland.

Starting on 10 April 2012, PostBus passengers can surf the internet for free on Postbuses in parts of the cantons of St Gallen, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Thurgau, Schwyz, Aargau and Valais. In April alone, over 300 vehicles will be equipped. In the canton of Zurich, Postbuses will start being equipped in May; in the cantons of Basel-Landschaft and Solothurn in June 2012. Within one year, PostBus will have equipped about 70 percent of its fleet with free WiFi across Switzerland. The challenge is especially with UMTS network coverage outside of cities and urban areas where reception is partially weak, making it impossible to offer free WiFi on all of the approximately 800 PostBus routes. While PostBus's priority is to offer comprehensive WiFi wherever good reception is available, some WiFi-equipped Postbuses may occasionally circulate in areas with poor reception.

PostBus as pioneer

Already last spring PostBus Switzerland Ltd. launched a pilot project with six vehicles in Sion. Based on the very positive test results, at the end of last year PostBus announced that it will be offering free WiFi, a first for a Swiss public transport company. Free WiFi offers passengers new possibilities to use their time on the Postbus and to use devices such as their smartphones to surf the web. There will be no increases to ticket prices due to the WiFi service. The project is largely financed by Swiss Post.

Simple access

The PostBus WiFi is accessed via a registration code that is entered in the gateway page in the PostBus WiFi. The customer must first provide a mobile telephone number to which the registration code is sent. Postbuses equipped with free WiFi are labelled with a WiFi icon. The PostBus website will communicate on an on-going basis where and when free WiFi is available in Postbuses:  www.postbus.ch/wifi

Im April verkehren die ersten 300 Postautos mit WiFi

Mitteilung vom 19.03.2012

In vielen Postautos gibt es bald einen kostenlosen Zugang zum Internet. Wie im November 2011 angekündigt, beginnt die PostAuto Schweiz AG am 10. April 2012 mit der Ausrüstung ihrer Flotte mit Gratis-WiFi. Zunächst werden in der Ostschweiz, im Wallis und im Aargau die ersten 300 Postautos ausgestattet. Danach kommen innerhalb eines Jahres schweizweit jeden Monat bis zu 100 weitere Fahrzeuge hinzu.

Ab 10. April 2012 können PostAuto-Fahrgäste in Gebieten der Kantone St. Gallen, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Thurgau, Schwyz, Aargau und Wallis gratis im Internet surfen. Allein im April werden 300 Fahrzeuge ausgerüstet. Im Kanton Zürich beginnt die Ausrüstung im Mai, in den Kantonen Basel-Landschaft und Solothurn im Juni 2012. Innerhalb eines Jahres wird PostAuto landesweit rund 70 Prozent seiner Flotte mit Gratis-WiFi ausrüsten. Die Herausforderung liegt vor allem in der UMTS-Netzabdeckung ausserhalb der Städte und Agglomerationen, wo der Empfang teilweise schlecht ist. Deshalb kann Gratis-WiFi nicht auf allen rund 800 PostAuto-Linien angeboten werden. Obwohl PostAuto Wi-Fi prioritär dort lückenlos anbieten will, wo die Empfangsqualität gut ist, kann es vorkommen, dass mit WiFi ausgerüstete Postautos auch einmal in Gebieten mit schlechtem Empfang verkehren.

PostAuto in Pionierrolle

Bereits im vergangenen Frühling führte die PostAuto Schweiz AG in Sitten ein Pilotprojekt mit sechs Fahrzeugen durch. Aufgrund der sehr positiven Testergebnisse kündigte PostAuto Ende letzten Jahres als erstes ÖV-Unternehmen der Schweiz an, Gratis-WiFi anzubieten. Gratis-WiFi bietet den Fahrgästen neue Möglichkeiten, ihren Aufenthalt im Postauto zu nutzen und beispielsweise mit Smartphones im Internet zu surfen. Die Billettpreise steigen wegen WiFi nicht. Das Angebot wird weitgehend von der Schweizerischen Post finanziert.

Einfacher Zugang

Der Zugang zum PostAuto-WiFi erfolgt mit einem Registrierungscode, der auf der Einstiegsseite des PostAuto-WiFi, eingegeben werden muss. Die Kundinnen und Kunden müssen lediglich eine Mobiltelefonnummer angeben, an die der Registrierungscode übermittelt wird. Die mit Gratis-WiFi ausgerüsteten Postautos sind mit einem Piktogramm gekennzeichnet. PostAuto informiert ab sofort laufend im Internet, wann und wo Gratis-WiFi in Postautos verfügbar ist:  www.postauto.ch/wifi.