PostBus acquires velopass

Press release dated 26.04.2012

PostBus Switzerland AG has acquired Lausanne-based velopass SARL. The acquisition turns PostBus into the new number one on the Swiss bike sharing market and strengthens its position as a provider of combined mobility services. At the same time, the merger enables the creation of a national network of self-service bicycle rentals with one and the same card.

PostBus fully acquires the company velopass. The Lausanne-based company is currently Switzerland’s biggest bike sharing provider and controls eleven bicycle self-service networks in more than twenty cities in French-speaking Switzerland and in Ticino. All nine velopass employees, including its managing director, will retain their jobs and roles. The company's current infrastructure constitutes a solid base for expanding the network. This merger represents the logical outcome of close cooperation between the two companies in the central Valais canton network (Sion) since November 2010.

Solution on a national scale

PostBus is thrilled about the acquisition of a progressive company that is well established in the biking world in Switzerland. With this acquisition, PostBus together with PubliBike has become the national market leader in (e-)bike sharing. After PostBus opened the first PubliBike stations in Lucerne, Brig, Solothurn, Basel, Frauenfeld, Winterthur and Kreuzlingen this acquisition represents a new level in incorporating the “last mile” into the mobility chain. It also brings added value to Switzerland's current public transportation system services. Subscribers of both the velopass and PubliBike networks will be able to take out a bicycle with one and the same card, valid across Switzerland. Clients will also benefit from an expansion of services, thanks to the alliance of these two systems and their compatibility.

velopass

Founded in December 2009, velopass operates a network of expandable stations, with a strong presence in urban areas in French-speaking Switzerland and in Ticino. The company's services cater more to commuters and city dwellers rather than tourists. Through its very good network of contacts in the national Swiss bicycle scene, it offers its system to both municipalities and private companies. Velopass can be found in more than 20 cities and operates 80 stations with more than 800 bicycles. The company has logged over 254,000 bicycle rentals since launching its first self-service bicycle rental stations and currently boasts over 11,000 subscribers.

More information under  www.velopass.ch

PubliBike

PostBus, in cooperation with SBB and Rent a Bike, made its debut on the self-service bicycle rental market in mid August 2011 with its first PubliBike station in Lucerne. Since then, six further stations in Brig, Solothurn, Basel, Frauenfeld, Winterthur and Kreuzlingen, have been inaugurated. More openings are planned for 2012 in Delémont, Rapperswil and Zurich. PubliBike's goal is to establish a national system that integrates a large number of city networks (with many stations in each location), enabling customers to easily borrow a regular bicycle or e-bike through use of an electronic card valid across the national network. This card allows for simple and secure access to all PubliBike stations in Switzerland and also works with other self-service bicycle rental systems throughout Switzerland.

More information under  www.publibike.ch

CarPostal acquiert velopass

Communication du 26.04.2012

La société velopass sàrl et CarPostal Suisse SA opèrent un rapprochement stratégique qui se traduit par le rachat de la société lausannoise par CarPostal. L’entreprise de transport devient ainsi leader sur le marché suisse de location de vélos en libre-service (VLS) et renforce sa position en tant que prestataire de services en matière de mobilité combinée. Cette acquisition permet de créer un réseau national de location VLS accessible avec une seule et même carte.

CarPostal rachète, dans son intégralité, la société velopass. La société lausannoise est actuellement le plus grand prestataire de location VLS en Suisse et dispose de onze réseaux de location VLS dans plus de vingt villes en Suisse romande et au Tessin. Les neuf employés dont le directeur de velopass conservent leur poste et leurs fonctions. Les infrastructures actuelles constituent une base sûre pour une extension du réseau. Ce partenariat représente la suite logique de l’étroite collaboration entre les deux entreprises sur le réseau du Valais central (Sion) depuis novembre 2010.

Solution à l’échelle nationale

CarPostal se réjouit de l’acquisition d’une entreprise expérimentée et bien implantée dans le monde du vélo en Suisse. Avec ce rachat, CarPostal se hisse avec PubliBike au rang de leader national dans le domaine de la location de vélos. Après la mise en service des premières stations PubliBike à Lucerne, Brigue, Soleure, Bâle, Frauenfeld, Winterthur et Kreuzlingen, cette acquisition est une nouvelle étape de l’intégration du «dernier kilomètre» à la chaîne de mobilité. Elle apporte aussi une valeur ajoutée à l’offre actuelle de transports en commun en Suisse. Les utilisateurs des réseaux velopass et PubliBike pourront emprunter un vélo avec une seule et même carte valable dans toute la Suisse. Grâce à ce rapprochement et à la compatibilité des deux systèmes, les clients verront ainsi l’offre s’agrandir.

velopass

Créée en décembre 2009, la société dispose d’un maillage de stations extensibles. Elle est bien implantée dans les agglomérations romandes et tessinoises. Son service se destine tant à des pendulaires, aux habitants des villes qu’à des touristes. Disposant d’un très bon réseau de contacts dans le monde du vélo au niveau national, elle propose son système tant aux communes qu’à des entreprises privées. Velopass est présente dans plus de 20 villes et exploite 80 stations avec plus de 800 vélos. Avec plus de 254 000 emprunts de vélos enregistrés depuis le lancement des premières stations de VLS, la société compte actuellement plus de 11 000 abonnés.

Plus d’info sous  www.velopass.ch

PubliBike

A la mi-août 2011, CarPostal a réalisé, en collaboration avec les CFF et Rent a Bike, son entrée sur le marché de la location de VLS avec la première station PubliBike à Lucerne. Depuis lors, six stations supplémentaires à Brigue, Soleure, Bâle, Frauenfeld, Winterthur et Kreuzlingen ont été mises en service. D’autres suivront dans le courant de l’année à Delémont, Rapperswil et Zurich. PubliBike a pour objectif d'instaurer un système national – regroupant un grand nombre de réseaux urbains (avec plusieurs stations par localité) – qui permet au client d’emprunter facilement un vélo traditionnel ou électrique à l’aide d’une carte électronique valable à l’échelle nationale. Cette carte donne accès de manière facilitée et sécurisée à toutes les stations PubliBike en Suisse et est également compatible avec d’autres systèmes de location de VLS à l’échelle nationale.

Plus d’info sous  www.publibike.ch